Cambdrige and Audley End

From King’s Lynn Pietro Querini arrived in Cambridge. On Sunday he went for mass to a noble Benedictine monastery in Audley Land.
 
From Pietro Querini’s diary (P.Nelli, 2007): “from Lilia we sailed by barge up a river and went to mass at a noble Benedictine monastery (Audley End, some thirty kilometres from Cambridge)”.
 
More info about the monastery: built in Jacobean style on the site of the medieval Walden Abbey, it is one of the most famous English products of its kind. The present building is only one third of the original 17th century construction and is now owned by English Heritage.
Built mainly in the early 17th century, this sumptuous mansion has a fascinating past. Originally, the site was occupied by Walden Abbey, a Benedictine monastery founded in the 12th century.
 
However, in 1538, the monastery was dissolved by Henry VIII and granted to Lord Chancellor Sir Thomas Audley.

Among its owners was King Charles II of England.

Helpful links

Share the Post:

Related Posts